No Soup For You! Meal Plan #12

Hello fellow food friends!

1400127270-0

I know last week I went on a big rant about the misconceptions we often have regarding health (which you can read here!), so I thought this week we could explore a different topic together: real life eating.

 

I really enjoy eating paleo and it makes me feel good, not in a guilt-free sort of way, but in a health and wellness way. What I mean is that food is sustenance, not punishment. Food doesn’t care whether you eat it or not (well, maybe the lobsters do). Food isn’t out to get you. Food is a tool. We can use food to heal our bodies or destroy them. With that being said, nobody’s perfect. I’m not and I don’t pretend to be. I don’t eat paleo 100% of the time. Maybe it was easier for a caveman to do it, but I’m glad I don’t have to hunt down my meal for a week before I get to enjoy it. I like Steve Kamb’s (from NerdFitness) idea of eating a paleo-ish diet (great article). The meals I plan are paleo and if I go out to eat, I avoid breads and pastas and the like, but to really make this a lifestyle, it has to be flexible! Radical moderation (is a funny paradox, but) won’t work! Eat what you can live with.

Sometimes I eat pizza (gasp!) and enjoy some homemade cookies (blasphemy!), but compared to the Standard American Diet, or SAD for short, my plate has many more vegetables and less grains. Don’t beat yourself up over having some cheese and wine at a party. Don’t let food rule your life. As I said earlier, it’s a tool, not a master that you are slave to. It should be enjoyed, not make you miserable (everyone else is eating double cheeseburgers and I’m forced to eat my kale salad!). Find a balance that works for you. When I start tipping towards the SAD, I can really feel it, I don’t feel as awake, my stomach might hurt, I feel lazy, so I just make some readjustments and move on.

Last point, everyone is different. Some people do just fine or even better with more carbohydrates in their diet. I like to keep mine low. I don’t really like pasta, my wife and my parents love it. What works for one person may not be what works for you. Listen to your body. Pay attention to what it’s telling you.

Anywaaaaays, on to the meal plan! I hope you have a great week and let me know if you try out any of the recipes (or made alterations) and how it worked out for you!

-Tom Eats


Meal Plan #12

Breakfast:

This week, I’ve been experimenting a little more. Taking veggies I chopped earlier and saved and making a 3-egg scramble with them. Or making a green smoothie (try to stick to 80% veggies, 20% fruit) with a little coconut milk.

Lunch:

Leftovers as per usual, with carrots and almond butter with some added cinnamon. If there aren’t leftovers from the night before, then it’s a spinach salad with some ham, walnuts, possibly blueberries, and olive oil and balsamic vinegar (probably the best dressing you can go for, avoid ranch!).

Dinner:

Salmon and asparagus – Wild caught sockeye has been cheaper at the grocery store than usual (score!), but offset by asparagus still being kind of high (bummer!). Anyway, preheat oven to 375, line a tray with aluminum and place the salmon skin side down on the foil, grind some sea salt and black pepper over it and bake for about 15 minutes, then the meat should separate from the skin and just throw away the foil!

Sweet Potato and Bacon Soup – I love soup and this one is great. I just made this recently and it turned out really well. Has a consistency similar to baby food but a great taste! Warning: much easier with an immersion blender, but you can use a regular blender instead.

Slow-Cooker Beef and Broccoli – I haven’t made this as a crock pot recipe, but I bet it’s going to be great! This recipe is NOT PALEO, but a couple substitutions fix that. I’m going to swap out the soy sauce with coconut aminos (1-for-1), and the brown sugar for honey (1-for-1), and the cornstarch with tapioca starch (1-for-1).

Leftovers! – That’s right, we planned a meal in the week to just eat leftovers. Leftover whatever, maybe it’s 3 or 4 small portions and wouldn’t be good mixed into eggs the next morning. But with a soup recipe and slow-cooker recipe in the same week, there’s sure to be extra vittles to be eaten!

Tom is also involved with Globe & Crown Publishing and Podcast, and The Surreal Appeal Art & Jewelry. Celebrate art and creativity by checking them out!

 

Leave a Reply

