The Truth – Meal Plan #16

pinky-swear-329329_640

The truth is that we are all human, well, most of us. Well, at least some of us are mostly human. I make mistakes. I don’t eat a perfect diet. I’m also okay with that. No one is perfect and that’s a fact better realized sooner than later. Don’t turn your food into another chain that bind yourself with. Food is a resource to health and relationship. Don’t sacrifice your mental health for the goal of physical health. What’s it going to gain you? If your thought process is ‘I’ll diet and exercise until I look better and then I’ll be happy!’ then you will be disappointed. You’ll only feel like a slave to those things and it’ll never be enough.

It is my goal at Tom Eats for you to be happy AND healthy. And yes, they can, and in my option often do, go together. We are in this together and we can look to each other for support. Focus on real health. Real food. Real goals. When you stop shooting for perfection and instead go for sustainability and pragmatism, you will free yourself up to be who you really are and enjoy life!

Okay, I know that got a little weird, but anyway, here are some meals for this week.

-Tom Eats


Meal Plan #16

Breakfast:

I’ve been really happy with the green smoothies and eggs. Sometimes I’ll throw some bacon in there or do butter (aka bulletproof) coffee instead. I am a BIG fan of having greens with breakfast, I know it’s a far departure from the Standard American Diet breakfast, but it’s a great way to start the day!

Lunch:

You don’t have to put that much thought into lunch. Leftovers are wonderful (even for kids)! Plus some fruit, carrots and almond butter. I usually get almond butter from the bulk section(no additives) then mix in a little honey and cinnamon.

Dinner:

This is where the rubber hits the road.

Korean Style Pork Chops – I ended up being pressed for time and cooking them in the oven the whole way through, but they still turned out really tasty! (To make 100% paleo: sub soy sauce for equal amounts coconut aminos)

Egg Scramble! – I love this meal because I basically take whatever vegetables need to be used, chop them up and throw them in a skillet with some ghee and eggs! Last week, I cooked chorizo (1 lb), then added in green bell pepper (1) and chopped white (1/2) and green onions, then added the eggs (8) and scrambled it all together. Serves 4.

Shrimp and Green Beans – I know this recipe seems a little unimpressive at first, but trust me, it’s delicious. I’ve made it several times and it’s always great.

Grilled Flank Steak with Avocado Chimichurri – This is a tasty and really satisfying recipe. Supplement it with some mixed salad greens or paleo tortillas.

Happy eating!

Tom is also involved with Globe & Crown Publishing and Podcast, and The Surreal Appeal Art & Jewelry. Celebrate art and creativity by checking them out!

Leave a Reply

